same old, same old

let it go – the
smashed word broken
open vow or
the oath cracked length
wise – let it go it
was sworn to
go

 

let them go – the
truthful liars and
the false fair friends
and the boths and
neithers – you must let them go they
were born
to go

 

let all go – the
big small middling
tall bigger really
the biggest and all
things – let all go
dear

so comes love

 

~ e. e. cummings ~

(Complete Poems 1904-1962) .

 

Sometimes, the lines of a poem, or a song, run through my head at opportune moments.  This is one of those poems.  When I am frustrated, or angry, or hurt, I hear the soft, silent mantra of my literary hero:  let it go, the smashed word, broken open vow

I have a tendency to get too caught up in process.  To be hurt when what should happen doesn’t.  To become stressed when some pre-defined yet really imaginary schedule is not respected.  Let it go, let all go, dear.

Sometimes I wonder, though, why?  Why should I have to let everything go?  Why can’t my needs, my small-d desires, be met?  Why do I always have to wait with my shoes on by the door for 45 minutes after we said we’re leaving a place, thinking of the thousand-and-one jobs that await me at home, thinking of the cranky kids, thinking how stupid I look, waiting with my shoes on by the door, while he begins to make his rounds, saying goodbye, sharing a laugh, or a story, grabbing one last bite to eat, glaring at me for being impatient, there by the door, with my shoes already on.

Let it go.  I always let it go in the end.  And I always wonder why it takes me that process to get there.  Why can’t I just let it go at the beginning and save myself the stress and high blood pressure?  Let it go, give up, give over.

so comes love.

 

This entry was posted in relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

